Ex Latest
    Digital releases of “Enormous Door”, “Catch My Shoe” and “Y'Anbessaw Tezeta” are available from our webshop. All Ex titles are now available to download from Bandcamp.
    All Ex releases ever.
    Some really, really long lists of everywhere The Ex have ever played and who they played with.
    The Ex's all-time Vomit 50!.
Next Shows
24 April 2013

New Release on Ex Records

“Enormous Door” (CD/LP) by The Ex + Brass Unbound will be released on Ex Records on 29 April.

Enormous Door coverThe Ex have hooked up with one of the most powerful horn sections imaginable and sparks are sure to fly. Since 1979 this inspired, intrepid and seminal band has consistently pushed the envelope, plotting a restless course from their anarchist punk origins to embrace everything from fractured noise to Ethiopian groove. Their thrillingly raw and rhythmic rock sound is born from their ideals, musical friendships/networks and work ethic. Alive to the moment, they are sometimes described as “experimental trance-dance avant-afro-punk improv music” and no one knows what descriptions this metamorphosis will conjure up.

The Ex plan to unleash a new wild and combustible show in collaboration with four of the world's most powerful and performative horn players for some in-the-red swing time. Brass Unbound comprise Swedish force of nature Mats Gustafsson (saxophone), Chicago jazz heavyweight Ken Vandermark (saxophone), Italian wild card Roy Paci (trumpet) and boundary busting classical/futurist Wolter Wierbos (trombone). The line up is dexterous and dangerous, as players, improvisers and entertainers, this group is nothing short of phenomenal. Expect fireworks.

The Ex have been involved in a steady stream of boundary-breaking collaborations, releases, tours and films that have established them as a unique but under-acknowledged force in rock music, who are always on the move, but always sound like The Ex.

The Ex + Brass Unbound

  • Andy Moor - guitar, baritone guitar
  • Terrie Hessels - guitar, baritone guitar
  • Arnold de Boer - vocals, guitar, sampler
  • Katherina Bornefeld - drums, vocals
  • Mats Gustafsson - baritone sax
  • Ken Vandermark - tenor + baritone sax, clarinet
  • Wolter Wierbos - trombone
  • Roy Paci - trumpet


  • 1. Last Famous Words (5:56)
  • 2. Every Sixth Is Cracked (6:29)
  • 3. Belomi Benna (4:32)
  • 4. Red Cow (3:28)
  • 5. Our Leaky Homes (4:21)
  • 6. Bicycle Illusion (7:04)
  • 7. We Are Made Of Places (5:20)
  • 8. Theme From Konono No.2 (7:08)

The Ex + Brass Unbound

Buy direct from the band to get the best deals on all available Ex and Ex-related releases.

27 Passports cover The Ex at Bimhuis cover And So Say All Of Us cover Lale Guma / Addis Hum cover Thick / Virus cover Enormous Door cover Y'Anbessaw Tezeta cover Catch My Shoe cover Maybe I Was The Pilot cover 30 cover 11 Ethio-Punk Songs cover Convoy Tour cover Moa Anbessa cover